1. Welcome to the official forum for MINIX devices!

Accessing U1 USB drive via PC on LAN

Discussion in 'NEO U1' started by StirlingSteve, Jan 23, 2016.

1. StirlingSteve

StirlingSteve New Member

Hi all,

Sorry if this is a completely stupid question but I'm pretty new to Android and am getting a little lost.

I have a USB HDD connected to my U1 which in turn is connected to the same LAN as my Windows 7 Desktop PC. I'd like to be able to transfer files from the PC to the USB drive on the U1. I thought I'd just need to install SAMBA on the U1 to make the USB HDD visible to the PC but that needs root access and I don't want to root the U1.

I know I can map to the PC from the U1 but I'd prefer to push the files over from the PC rather than pull them with the U1. Is there a simple app. I can use without having to root it?

Ta in advance for the help.
  2. newbie99

newbie99 Moderator Moderator

SAMBA would be the right (and if I'm not wrong the only) way to handle the way from PC to U1, so I think you have to root it OR you should wait till MINIX will implements the SAMBA Server at the fw (they will like at the X8, but it's a feature and not a bug-fix which have first priority at the moment)...
  3. newbie99

4. Frederick_99

Frederick_99 Well-Known Member Trusted Helper

using es explorer on the minix start the remote manger ( opens up ftp) and then you can transfer using ftp from your pc ( i use winscp)
    root not required
  5. newbie99

6. newbie99

hehehe, I didn't know that ES have a build-in ftp-server... sometimes life could be so easy :)
  7. StirlingSteve

StirlingSteve New Member

Cheers chaps - I'll try the FTP idea for now and revert to SAMBA when it's officially added then. Super!
  8. skynet

skynet Well-Known Member Trusted Helper

Hi,

The built-in FTP server works fine, but you can't access the external µSD, only the internal eMMC.
    Any way to get it ?
  9. haru harutachu

haru harutachu New Member