1. Welcome to the official forum for MINIX devices!

KODI 14 HELIX

Discussion in 'Kodi/XBMC for MINIX' started by jruiz14, Dec 23, 2014.

1. jruiz14

jruiz14 New Member

new kodi 14 helix, with support H265

web KODI.TV
  2. user.7410

user.7410 New Member

Last edited: Dec 24, 2014
    MKS likes this.
  3. 140hours

140hours New Member

I'm a newbie *(my NEO X8-H Plus arrives tomorrow!).

I take it that Minix' implementation of XBMC is optimized for the player, and that it would not be a good idea to try and manually
    upgrade the 13.1 Gotham *(?) currently to the new Kodi 14 Helix, is that correct?

So in other words, wait for a firmware update or other update regarding Helix?

Thanks!
  4. pani100

pani100 Member

You can install Kodi 14 as it will work separate from the minix version.
    From their website:
    "The caveat to this update is that the decoding of h.265 is entirely software based. This means most low power systems, such as those operating Android or iOS, may struggle compared to the heftier HTPCs or Intel NUCs and ZOTAC ZBOXes that are running desktop and laptop processors."

As the X8-H Plus is meant to do hardware decoding of h.265, do not know what the result will be on that issue.

Also:
    "On the Android side, hardware playback improvements continue, including more and better support for various chipsets, improved fast forward and rewind capability, as well as 4K support for the AMLogic s802 chipset."

We possibly have to wait for a Kodi 14 update to include the new S812 chipset which is found in our X8-H Plus boxes.
    It all looks promising. Just got to have a little patience for the software to catch up with the brand new hardware.:)
  5. ENDRJUPL

ENDRJUPL Well-Known Member Super Moderator

There is no harm in trying. You can install Kodi just like any other app. It will not replace the minix xbmc.
    Mathew likes this.
  6. MINIX - Ken

MINIX - Ken MINIX Team Member Administrator