1. Welcome to the official forum for MINIX devices!
    Dismiss Notice

Micro SD slot as the main C: disk drive.

Discussion in 'NEO Z83-4' started by Dome, Apr 4, 2018.

1. Dome

Dome New Member

Does anyone know if it possible to make Neo Z83-4 boot from MicroSD slot as the main C: disk drive? So that I can have Windows 10 installed on a microSD card permanently dedicated.

32GB is not good enough for Windows 10

If yes, please share HOW to make it happen.

Thanks in Advance

2. Minimuck

Minimuck New Member

Since nobody responded...

The free Windows 10 distributed with the Minix box is not licensed for larger than 32GB primary disks. It also probably won't allow installation on an external disk, but that's a guess.

I am not an expert, but these guesses are based on what I have gleaned about the free "mini" Windows license, and also based on my previous research into wanting to run Windows in a similar fashion.

You will very likely find operating system performance on a microSD card to be miserable anyway, particularly compared to the internal SSD. I would also have serious concerns about reliability. I don't think Windows is flash-friendly.

Personally, I have taken the path of least resistance and use external MicroSD cards and USB drives as auxiliary drives for data and selected applications. I explicitly install some large software packages to such a drive, if they can tolerate the slower speeds. I wouldn't put a database on a card, but might install productivity apps, some non-disk-heavy games, multimedia, etc.. You will have to override default locations during installation, but most programs run fine from a second disk.

Hope that helps.

3. MINIX - John

MINIX - John MINIX Team Member Administrator

The Windows 10 OS running on NEO Z83-4 isn't free, though it is heavily discounted.
    4GB RAM and 32GB eMMC is the maximum permitted configuration to obtain the discounted price, which is why NEO Z83-4 only includes 32GB eMMC.