1. Welcome to the official forum for MINIX devices!
    Dismiss Notice

Movie just stops playing in Kodi?

Discussion in 'NEO U9-H' started by Fjodor2000, Nov 11, 2017.

1. Fjodor2000

Fjodor2000 Member

Hi,

If I start to play a movie in Kodi, after a couple of seconds or minutes it sometimes just stops without me doing anything. It's like I've pressed the Stop button on the remote, despite that I haven't. So Kodi just returns to the list of movies where I started playing the movie from.

What is this typically an indicator of? Has Kodi crashed? Or has it just encountered an unrecoverable error while playing the movie (e.g. codec bug?), so it has no choice but to stop the playback of the movie?

Last edited: Nov 19, 2017
  2. skynet

skynet Moderator Moderator

Hi,

Do you have this issue with all movies ?
    Try to clear Kodi's cache in applications settings

3. Fjodor2000

Fjodor2000 Member

I haven't tracked it down to any individual movies yet. Also, if I restart the same movie again, it sometimes succeeds in playing it (but often that doesn't work). And sometimes if that does not work, if I shut down the MiniX completely and start it up again, I can play the same movie ok, but not always.

But anyway, my initial question was regarding what this behavior (movie stops playing itself) is a symptom of? Has Kodi crashed, or has it just encountered an unrecoverable error (e.g. due to codec issue) and thus intentionally stopped the movie? If Kodi crashes, shouldn't it shut down the Kodi App completely, and return to the Android homescreen instead?

4. Motoarzan

Motoarzan New Member